Microsoft are still spamming this site
Posted by Dave in Technology, tags: Microsoft, SPAMAnd it’s starting to get ridiculous! Yesterday this site received 20 hits referred from live search with the hits coming from Microsoft owned IP addresses searching for such wonderful topics as “email” “gateway” “community” and “christmas”. So today I sent them the following e-mail
My website (http://www.dave-thorp.me.uk) is currently receiving a high amount of search traffic coming from live search and coming from IP addresses owned by microsoft 65.55.165.xxx). Quite often this search traffic is searching for mundane items such as “email” “community” “christmas” or other terms that could not possibly be terms that would cause my website to show up in search results. This traffic is playing havoc with my search logs and other logs on my site as well as being a pointless use of my bandwidth.
As the traffic is originating from microsoft owned IP addresses take notice that if it does not immediately cease I will be left with no alternative than to bar access to my site from all microsoft owned IP addresses. I may also be forced to file a claim in the UK courts to obtain an injunction ordering you to cease this behaviour which you would be liable for any costs incurred.
I am aware of the official response that this is some form of quality control test. I would suggest if microsoft have quality control issues (which lets face it most of your software does), you resolve them on your own sites on your own bandwidth.
You have 14 days to comply otherwise I will consider obtaining an
injunction as described above
Regards
Mr D Thorp
Which was sent to their abuse@microsoft.com address. Just one problem. It has just been returned undelivered to me because and I quote “Your e-mail was rejected by an anti-spam content filter on gateway (131.107.115.212). Reasons for rejection may be: obscene language, graphics, or spam-like characteristics. Removing these may let the e-mail through the filter”
It’s not even funny anymore


Entries (RSS)