Posts Tagged “SPAM”

And it’s starting to get ridiculous! Yesterday this site received 20 hits referred from live search with the hits coming from Microsoft owned IP addresses searching for such wonderful topics as “email” “gateway” “community” and “christmas”. So today I sent them the following e-mail

My website (http://www.dave-thorp.me.uk) is currently receiving a high amount of search traffic coming from live search and coming from IP addresses owned by microsoft 65.55.165.xxx). Quite often this search traffic is searching for mundane items such as “email” “community” “christmas” or other terms that could not possibly be terms that would cause my website to show up in search results. This traffic is playing havoc with my search logs and other logs on my site as well as being a pointless use of my bandwidth.

As the traffic is originating from microsoft owned IP addresses take notice that if it does not immediately cease I will be left with no alternative than to bar access to my site from all microsoft owned IP addresses. I may also be forced to file a claim in the UK courts to obtain an injunction ordering you to cease this behaviour which you would be liable for any costs incurred.

I am aware of the official response that this is some form of quality control test. I would suggest if microsoft have quality control issues (which lets face it most of your software does), you resolve them on your own sites on your own bandwidth.

You have 14 days to comply otherwise I will consider obtaining an
injunction as described above

Regards

Mr D Thorp

Which was sent to their abuse@microsoft.com address. Just one problem. It has just been returned undelivered to me because and I quote “Your e-mail was rejected by an anti-spam content filter on gateway (131.107.115.212). Reasons for rejection may be: obscene language, graphics, or spam-like characteristics. Removing these may let the e-mail through the filter”

It’s not even funny anymore

Comments No Comments »

Funny but true. For the last few weeks I’ve been getting weird hits in my search referrals. For those not in the know this blog, as with a lot of websites, logs statistics about visitors to the site such as IP address, what browser you are using, where you have come from and if you have come from a search engine, what you searched for. The what you searched for bit is of particular interest to me as it is nice to know what search hits are generating traffic to my site.

However recently, in the search hits I’ve been getting hits from live search searching for mundane topics such as “email” “awareness” “police” “today” “yourself” etc etc etc. Initially it wasn’t too annoying but now it is getting to the point where it is happening several times a day so I did some digging. The IP addresses used were always in the range of 65.55.165.xxx which a look up tells me is owned by microsoft. A google led me HERE where it seems this is part of some quality test by microsoft.

Quite what they are checking the quality of I am unsure but they really need to do it on their own bandwidth. People are already blocking the IP range from accessing their servers and if microsoft aren’t careful they will find themselves unable to access any of the internet in order to index it

Comments No Comments »